Tune straight 2015/16 lacing?

Discuss light weight issues concerning mountain bikes & parts.

Moderator: Moderator Team

qwpy

by qwpy

Hello there.

I am hoping to lace up a tune rear prince QR 2015 (32 hole)the new 'unusual' looking version.

(picture below)

hope to lace with:
mavic xc-717 disc rim 26 inch (EDIT*i have just been told by mavic. (ERD) = 538mm (26 inch,mtb/mavic)
sapim cx-ray spokes (but not sure what lengths yet : ?)

I cant seem to find a picture of one of these hubs laced up. The hub is rather strange looking.
the pdf states:
“ The hub is constructed for radial lacing. The hub therefore must be laced radial on both sides. Cross lacing
is not allowed.”

As you can see in the picture above, the spokes do not connect 90 degrees straight up from the hub, they are set at an angl, yet apparently do not cross, if radial, perhaps? i am not an expert.

tune pdf.

PRINCE STRAIGHT:
The highest permitted spoke tension is 1200 N.
Pitch circle diameter Ø 47,0 mm / 57,0 mm
Spoke hole diameter Ø 2,4 mm
Distance hub flange to wheel center
line (l / r)
32,0 mm / 19,4 mm (QR5 / Maxle)
31,7 mm / 1”

sapim have a calculator. ( not sure if this is the best to use?)
http://www.sapim.be/spoke-calculator

below are measurements I have required for the calculator, so far.....

1.Total length of the hub: 135mm ( from where hub meets frame both sides/ end cap edge)
2.Non-gear side: 32.5mm? (hand measured from between the two spoke holes to where hub meets frame)
3.Gear side: 48mm? (hand measured from between the two spoke holes to where hub meets frame)

4.Hub diameter non-gear side: 47mm (from pdf)
5.Hub diameter gear side: 57mm (from pdf)

6.Internal diameter of the rim: 541.5 mm? < Likely wrong, this is the ERD (mavic customer service do not know IRD) I have yet to receive my rim to hand measure. I hoped to buy it with the spokes.

7.Rim thickness: 2mm ?? ( not known either by customer service. so I put 2mm) : /

8.Number of spokes in the wheel: 32