New rider, XC oriented frame

Discuss light weight issues concerning mountain bikes & parts.

Moderator: Moderator Team

HaakonJohansen

by HaakonJohansen

I'm considering doing a XC oriented build, and as I'm totally new to this kind of riding, I was hoping to get some (read; a lot!) of help getting started with my choice of frame. Although I'm new to the XC world, I've been doing quite a lot freeride oriented biking. Just thought I should mention in case this should affect my choice of frame in any way. I'm not saying I'm going to ride hard on this bike though, just don't want to leave out any information, in case someone might have something to point out.

I'm 186cm tall, weight is around 75-80kg, normal length in arms and legs, relative to my size. First of all; does my size directly indicate that I need one specific wheel size over another? Or is it more complicated than this? Personally I'm most keen on the 27,5" size, not because I've compared 27,5 and 29, but because I like the looks and weight better, and the thought of it being a little more playful. If a lot of you guys thinks that my weight/hight indicates otherwise though, I'll listen to you.

Also, I'm not going to ride professionally. No contests and stuff, just commuting and training with friends. I do want to use mostly high end components though, and I want the build to be as light as possible (for fun;) ). At the moment, I'm only wondering about the frame though, as I know quite a lot about what components I want.

What I know I want is this:
- A frame that works well with both a suspension fork and a rigid fork, if possible.
- Light, preferably carbon.
- Most up to date rear wheel spacing (142x12mm?), if there isn't any indications this is going to change soon of course.

Last, I'm wondering if i should consider Chinese carbon frames? Or should I really stay away from those? Remember I'm not going to ride professionally though!

by Weenie