Formula R1 brakes and aftermarket rotors compatibility.

Discuss light weight issues concerning mountain bikes & parts.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Erhar

by Erhar

I'd like to ask for your help. I have the formula r1 brakes (older model) and i'd like to replace the stock rotors with lighter aftermarket ones. I've read somewhere that there might be a compatibility issue with semi floating (two piece rotors). Is this true? Is there something I should bear in mind? Thanks in advance for your answer.

DanW

by DanW

I used Hope X2 Race (the lighter Hope version) without problems on 2011 R1's. It was a bit close but worked ok. Same clearance of the rivets on my current XTR to be honest

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

sstefanov

by sstefanov

I have been using Ashima Ai2 rotors on my R1s since 2 years on my primary wheelset. My observations are the they do work OK, but:
- They do not have the byte of the original rotors, stopping power is ok thought
- They do eat pads like crazy when it is very wet/muddy

Hope this helps.

Stefan

Erhar

by Erhar

DanW wrote:I used Hope X2 Race (the lighter Hope version) without problems on 2011 R1's. It was a bit close but worked ok. Same clearance of the rivets on my current XTR to be honest

Well this is really encouraging. After what I read I was afraid that the R1 calipers are only compatible with one piece aftermarket rotors.

DanW

by DanW