Super light XC hardtail race machine

Discuss light weight issues concerning mountain bikes & parts.

Moderator: Moderator Team

RyanC318

by RyanC318

Hello everyone, I have been racing XC for a few years now and currently ride a Small Foundry Broadaxe that weighs around 21lbs. Me I am just about done growing and am looking for a light race bike to use for this season. I have been eyeing out the F-Si team edition, but haven't really seen any weights or good reviews on it. I am open to suggestions, but I'd prefer XX1 or equivalent with carbon wheels and sub 20lbs.

Thanks,
Ryan
2012 Flash 29er-18.86lbs
2008 Felt F1 Garmin Chipotle Edition-15.44lbs

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

krzysiekmz

by krzysiekmz

There's a bunch of info. and weights/pictures in this thread regarding Cannondale F-si :

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=128156

Are you looking to buy complete and/or upgrade or build yourself from scratch?

Chris.
Orbea Oiz - xxxx
MSC Koncept Carbon Di2 - 6955g
Leichtkraft Team Carbon - 6868g.

RyanC318

by RyanC318

Thanks for that link I feel stupid for not looking there. To specify I am looking for a complete bike.
2012 Flash 29er-18.86lbs
2008 Felt F1 Garmin Chipotle Edition-15.44lbs

the_marsbar

by the_marsbar

An F-Si Team will be less than 20 lbs out of the box. I changed the tires (to Schwalbe without snakeskin) and saddle (Smud). It's around 8.7 kgs (19.2 lbs) with Xpedo M-Force 8 pedals. I'm in the process of building a new lighter set of wheels (based on Mcfk rims), and looking at a new seatpost/stem, and maybe a spiderless chainrind. It should be around 8.2 kgs by then.

mashiehood

by mashiehood

How about an Open O-1.0? I built mine with a mix of Chinese carbon wheels, Extralite stem, Hubs and rims from Light Bicycle and Fox CTD 100mm forks. Currently sits at 17.3lb (7.8kg).

the_marsbar

by the_marsbar