Building a 29er gravelracer. Chinese frame?

Discuss light weight issues concerning mountain bikes & parts.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Skorp
Shop Wrench

by Skorp

Hi!

Next year im competing in some gravel/super light terrain races. So maintaining high speed over distance is the goal. CX is not allowed, and the "technical" places is abit harsh on a CX.
I have never built a MTB from scratch before, and i need tips on every part i listed. Espesially wheels and frame.
I have a budget of 3000usd, but i want it cheaper.

The parts im most insecure about:
Chinese carbon frame / used frame(Scott scale?): Which frame to choose?
Sun ringle wheels 1720g @ 420usd: Any cheaper or lighter?

The other parts i like and want:
Brakes: XT, 180mm front 160mm rear, XT discs??
Crank: XT with some Narrow-Wide chainring ( the only part i have, but i am willing to change if you have a better choice )
Pedals: Crankbrothers Eggbeater 3
Kasette: XT
Chain: XT
Triggershifter: XT/XTR + mount to fit it to the lever
Handlebar: Ritchey WCS flatbar 540mm
Seatpost: Hylix Taiwan "super light" ebay
Seat: Selle Italia SL XC Flow
Stem: Uno ASA105
Tyres: Schalbe Furious fred 2.25 and Continental Raceking, Maybe even ThunderBurt when they are available

Weight goal: anything under 9,5 is perfect!
Please help me make a fast bike!
I know little, and will be happy for any help i can get!

Cheers, Vegard
Last edited by Skorp on Mon Sep 02, 2013 9:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Colin

by Colin

Have a look at Stans Crest wheels, quite a bit lighter.
Also, I've never had very good luck with Shimano chains, KMC(X10SL) chains are lighter and seem to last longer.

Skorp
Shop Wrench

by Skorp

How about shifting quality?

I have only tried Wipperman Connex chains, and almost all shimano chains. Never broken one.