20 lb HT for under $1000?

Discuss light weight issues concerning mountain bikes & parts.

Moderator: Moderator Team

TooSteep

by TooSteep

Hello all:

Total newbie here.

I've been looking for a bike to use as a fire-road explorer and gravel grinder, as opposed to a true singletrack mountain bike. I'd like to put some tires with a very supple casing on it for a fast, plush ride. And I wouldn't mind something along the lines of a White Brothers Rock Solid fork to smooth out the gravel but also keep the weight down.

A few days ago, I was checking out an eBay listing for a 2007 Salsa Moto Rapido (http://www.ebay.com/itm/2007-Large-Sals ... 7675.l2557). The seller told me that it weighted 19.6 lbs! I'm kind of kicking myself for not picking that up for just over $500.

So I guess now my question is - how reasonable is it to find a 20 lb bike for that kind of price? I like light bikes. I don't mind the V-brakes the Salsa had. I'm looking for something light, smooth, fast and comfortable. Was the weight for that Moto Rapido likely accurate?

Any help on where I should be looking, and what I should be looking for would be greatly appreciated.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

chucklight

by chucklight

If you check out a couple of my posts a few below in the MTB section of the forum you'll see how close you can get to 20lbs with a more modern alu framed bike by not spending a grand, I'm in no doubt that with a slightly older bike you can get below that mark

I guess the equation is extra lbs and tech V's age
Bike: 2012 Boardman HT Pro MTB - 21.838lbs / 9.906kg (for now...)

andrewh8877

by andrewh8877

If you are happy with rigid forks, singlespeed and buying used parts it should be really easy.