Budget build advice

Discuss light weight issues concerning mountain bikes & parts.

Moderator: Moderator Team

RollingGoat
Shop Wrench

by RollingGoat

Hello all,

So due to space constraints I haven't had an actual mountain bike for around 2 years now. Instead I've just been using my cross bike with the widest tires it can fit while riding on some of the less technical trails in the area. However, I've just moved to a new apartment and at last have space for a shiny new bike.

...except that I'm a broke-ass student who spent most of the bike budget on moving to the new place.

So here's the two options I'm considering:
a) I have an old (2006 I think) Titus Racer X aluminum frame (26" wheel) that's one size too big for me that I used to ride before I ever had an actual fitting done. It's a medium and I need a small. I could build that up but it won't fit a tapered fork so "future proof" is definitely not how I'd describe the bike. That said, there's no guarantee I'll be able to afford to upgrade stuff for a long while so perhaps that isn't as much of a concern as I think it is. The build would be 1x10, probably all Shimano SLX or maybe XT if I can find some good deals. To deal with the sizing problem I'd just run a 50mm stem (I had a 90mm on there the last time I used this frame, which was 4 years ago I think). Not having to get a new frame means I could go with nicer wheels and maybe get a dropper post.

b) Get a cheap 29er hardtail frame like an On-One Scandal or Inbred and build with SLX and cheap wheels.

For the record, all of my riding is in the Boston area, which is extremely varied in terms of technicality but has little in the way of long climbs. It's usually short and steep going both up and down. I consider myself a competent descender but mediocre at best when it comes to technical skills.
I'm so rubbish at this.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓