Upgrading Syntace F99 stem's bolt to Ti, a good idea?

Discuss light weight issues concerning mountain bikes & parts.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
nrsnow
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 2:30 am

by nrsnow

Upgrading Syntace F99 stem's bolt to Ti. A good idea?
Ridley Excalibur

Scott Spark LTD 8.15kg (retired)

Giant NRS (Retired)
http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=104531

by Weenie


User avatar
Martin.F
Posts: 762
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 9:21 pm
Location: Norway, Drammen

by Martin.F

I don't see why not. They are strong enough, no rust and save weight. Go for it :thumbup:
WTB Syncros bar/stem unit for foil

nrsnow
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 2:30 am

by nrsnow

The only one's i saw are the Ebay Asian versions. Is there anything else out there?
Ridley Excalibur

Scott Spark LTD 8.15kg (retired)

Giant NRS (Retired)
http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=104531

User avatar
Martin.F
Posts: 762
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 9:21 pm
Location: Norway, Drammen

by Martin.F

http://www.torontocycles.com/ has a lot of high quality bolts :)
WTB Syncros bar/stem unit for foil

sstefanov
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 7:18 pm
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

by sstefanov

Starbike sells the kit for what I think is a reasonable price too:

http://www.starbike.com/p/starbike.com-Titanium-bolt-kit-M5x14-mm-for-Syntace-F99-1510-en#6692

TheRookie
Posts: 910
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 4:23 pm
Location: Midlands, United Kingdom

by TheRookie

The ebay asian stuff is 'OK' but the threads are not as well made as they should be....
Impoverished weight weenie wanna-be!
Budget 26" HT build viewtopic.php?f=10&t=110956

User avatar
thewatchtech
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: USA

by thewatchtech

I did it a couple of seasons ago and have no problems. The only comment I can add is to make sure you get screws with rounded heads. I initially had stem mounting bolts with sharp edges and my knee would get cut up whenever it grazed the stem.

Varaxis
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 4:07 pm

by Varaxis

The F109 comes with Ti bolts, so I would assume there isn't an issue from a durability stand point, considering how Syntace tests their products. They seem to be the same design, except for the different handlebar clamping diameter, and they even offer Ti bolts and as option for the F99. I did have issues with the F109 slipping on my steerer, on the other hand, and have since replaced the stem, so that may have been an issue with that could be at least partially attributed to the Ti bolts (yes, I own and use torque wrenchs on my bike).

Bradley
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:10 pm
Location: Southeast England

by Bradley

Have had Titainium bolts on my F99 75mm for the past 18 months and it has been sound touch wood (Touches wood).

sh33mon
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 1:40 am

by sh33mon

Don't think it would be a problem either.

02GF74
Posts: 568
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:04 pm
Location: Sunny UK

by 02GF74

TheRookie wrote:The ebay asian stuff is 'OK' but the threads are not as well made as they should be....


yes, the Chinese/Taiwanese bolts have cut threads which are not as strong as rolled threads but that should not be a worry - most bolts I've seen fail shear as opposed to the thread being stripped off (no doubt there will be lots of post saying otherwise!!). I am using Ti bolts but so far not yet on steerer the or bar clamp. (oh, and don;t even think of aluminium alloy for these!)

In UK try Tibolts (Superstar components) and Probolt.

nrsnow
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 2:30 am

by nrsnow

I bought some asian ti bolts. Do I have to use ti prep grease?
Ridley Excalibur

Scott Spark LTD 8.15kg (retired)

Giant NRS (Retired)
http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=104531

Bradley
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:10 pm
Location: Southeast England

by Bradley

nrsnow wrote:I bought some asian ti bolts. Do I have to use ti prep grease?


Ideally yes but I personally have always just made sure there was some type of grease on the threads.

I use finish line grease that has never been a problem with me.

User avatar
Velofreak
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 2:15 am

by Velofreak

go for it, ti is no problem, alu is dangerous.

by Weenie


tompho
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:37 am

by tompho

I also use finish line grease.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post